Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette Review

DSC_0602

Hi everyone!

Long time no blog, right?

Today’s review is on Urban Decay’s Naked3 Palette which has taken bloggers and vloggers by storm.

I bought it from Beauty Bay for about $80, which is an enormous mark up compared to HQHair but, I couldn’t wait for it to come back in stock (it still isn’t back in stock) and got it. I ordered it before the new year and got it in 3 weeks, even with the Beauty Bay Premium service. My stubby fingers couldn’t wait to get the palette out of the box and start playing with the pretty colours.

The swatches are on bare skin without primer and feature two photos, one photo taken in indirect sunlight and the other with flash.

DSC_0603

DSC_0647

DSC_0648

DSC_0620

DSC_0640

DSC_0760
Indirect sunlight.
DSC_0764
Flash.

Strange – a pinky cream with a satin finish. It is extremely pigmented and soft to the touch yet powdery. When you press you brush to it particles will spray about. It’s a bit light for my skin as a highlight so I mix it with Limit.

Dust – a light pink champagne frost with chunky silver glitter. This shade has polarised users, some love it, some don’t like it. I am in the latter group. The texture is coarse and powdery, not smooth or pigmented. It’s difficult to get opacity with this, even over primer and using a brush. The glitter goes everywhere, even when using a flat brush and doesn’t last more than 3 hours on the lid. It’s best to use this as a top coat with your fingers to emphasise pink tones and shine with other shades.

Burnout – a pinky peach frost. On tan skin it looks like a light pink shimmer rather than a medium peach-pink. I’m quite disappointed with this shade as it fades within 4 hours, with primer, and creases dramatically compared to other shades. Primer doesn’t help in bringing out its pan colour so a white base is a must and packed on using a flat brush.

Limit – a pinky mauve matte. Extremely pigmented, soft and smooth. Due to its pigmentation it can look quite stark in the crease, which I found out the first time I used it but blended out, it ties looks together nicely, especially with one of the darker colours in the outer V. This one has better longevity than Dust and Burnout, fading at around the 6 hours mark and creasing in 7.

DSC_06402

DSC_0740
Indirect sunlight.
DSC_0742
Flash.

Buzz – a true rosy pink with micro-shimmer. This particular shade needs layering with a flat brush over primer to bring out the true colour and application can be slightly patchy. Like Burnout, it fades within 4 hours and creases with primer. At 6 hours it’s basically gone on my lids.

Trick – a coppery rose-gold frost. On my lids it doesn’t have a pink or rosy quality, it looks like a light coppery gold. Primer doesn’t help with longevity or colour brightness. It fades within 4 hours and creases.

Nooner – a pinky grey-brown matte. The least powdery of the matte shadows and is incredibly pigmented. I use it in the crease for concentrated definition on the outer crease.

Liar – a pinky taupe frost. It is very pigmented and smooth however the pink tones do get lost on the lid and can look like a midtone brown frost shade, even with primer. This shade lasts 7 hours before slight fading and creasing.

DSC_0644

DSC_0757
Indirect sunlight.
DSC_0753
Flash.

Factory – a pinky chocolate brown frost. Pink tones are lost on the lid, even with primer yet it is very pigmented and lasts 7 hours before fading and creasing. Beautiful in the crease with the light shades on the inner half of the lid, or as a shimmery smokey eye.

Mugshot – a light pink-brown with silver shimmer. It is pigmented, buttery smooth and soft to the touch. It lasts 7 hours over primer before fading and creasing. A standard shade that breaks the pinky tones which is great so you don’t look tired or ill.

Darkside -a complex true dark taupe that can look purple, silver or brown in certain lights and colour combinations. Have to be careful with this shade as you can look slightly bruised and can emphasise blue toned under eye circles. This also lasts 7 hours with primer before fading or creasing.

Blackheart – a matte black with red and pink micro-glitter. Soft and very, very pigmented. The micro-glitter doesn’t translate on to the lid so it looks like a dark charcoal instead. I actually like that the glitter can’t be seen as it works well in the crease and as an alternative to straight black liner since it isn’t stark and more sultry and girly.

Overall, I love this palette. I never thought I could get away with wearing pink shades but this palette, with it’s pink and taupe tones make it easy to create a plethora of flattering looks from day to night. The trick is to not wear too much pink all over the lid, I like to focus it on the inner half and have a taupe in the outer half and crease to prevent making me look tired or ill. This is why I appreciate the less pink tones on the latter half of the palette.

I just wish some of the lighter frost colours were more pigmented and had better longevity.

I thoroughly enjoy this palette and have been using it non-stop since I received it. It may surpass my love for the Naked 2 palette, but we’ll see about that!

Have you guys used this palette? What are your thoughts on it?

Let me know in the comments!

Michelle.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hey there! Thanks for the blog post. I am also from Australia and desperately wanted to purchase the Naked 3 palette. I was wondering whether Beauty Bay is a trusted website and seeing as you had no problem with your delivery, I also purchased from there! Yippeeee! Oh but it’s really expensive though. I bought two for $160. One for myself and one for my sister ;_; I also wanna get the Too Faced chocolate bar palette. Sorry for the long comment XD

    • I’ve been buying from Beauty Bay for more than three years and have never had any problems with them. However for Urbay Decay I try to buy from HQHair since it is cheaper than Beauty Bay.

      I also want the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette but it’s sold out in Mecca Maxima both instore and online. I don’t think I need any more eyeshadows but it looks so pretty!

Let's chat here!