Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation Review.

head

Hello everyone!

Today we are reviewing the ever famous Healthy Mix Foundation in 56 – Light Bronze which is supposed to suit MAC NC40 shades. I bought this during the 40% off sale in Priceline a few weeks back and have been using it religiously to gauge and good understanding of how it functions.

First of all, it smells amazing; floral like but not overpoweringly so, the serum version also has the same scent. Texture wise it’s a bit runny but not anything like MAC Face & Body, it moves at a rather slow pace.

The colour I bought is the darkest available in Australia which sucks because it’s such a good foundation. However, it’s not yellow enough for me, it’s too beige, as you can see in the swatches. It does oxidise a little, I find that if you do have oily skin and don’t wear a primer then there’s a possibility of it darkening a tad over time and leaves a very slight orange undertone after a while. Maybe next time I’ll use 55 – Dark Beige, it seemed more yellow toned but it was sold out at my Priceline so I settled for 56.

flash no flash

Healthy mix provides a solid medium coverage and is easily applied with fingers, brushes and probably sponges (I don’t use sponges, so I can’t really say). My preferred way of using it is with my fingers and apply very thin layers so that there isn’t an obvious colour difference. You can definitely build up the coverage to a fuller one if that’s what you like. The formula has silicone in it and as a result it glides on to the skin, smoothing out any textural issues, for me.

It leaves the skin with a satin finish and a very light luminous quality if you leave it unpowdered. If you have oily skin like I do, you’ll notice the oiliness around the hour mark if you don’t set it. I always use a primer with my foundations and set it with powder because my skin can get quite oily. The colour doesn’t change drastically if I prime beforehand  and powder after and enhances its longevity on oily skin.

I’ve noticed that this photographs quite well because it blurs imperfections, doesn’t emphasise dryness and doesn’t contain SPF in it. I have acne scarring from my bout with acne a couple of years ago as well as some redness and it covers them quite well. It won’t however, cover dark circles or really pigmented scars in one layer, you’ll have to build it up or use a concealer.

DSC_0046Here is half my face with only moisturiser containing SPF 30. If you click on the photo to make it larger you’ll be able to see some scarring and redness as well as the different textures from the acne scarring.

DSC_0049I applied two dots from the one pump I put on the back of my hand just on my cheek area where the most noticeable scarring and redness is then blended it out with my fingers.

blendedAfter blending you can see that it brightened up my complexion and did a good job at covering the redness. If you can zoom in there are some minor problems peeking through but nothing another layer won’t fix.

colour difference

If you look at the picture, sorry about the shadow, you can tell that my chest and neck are more yellow/golden and the foundation is on the beige, neutral side. You could correct this with a yellow powder but I don’t have one and I don’t think I’ll go out scavenging for one just to use with this foundation. I use it when I wear scarves and high cut shirts.

The bottom line is that this foundation is amazing, I didn’t want to believe the hype surrounding it but I understand why every blogger and their mum and raving about this foundation. It’s lightweight, provides excellent coverage and hasn’t affected my skin. The only downside is that it is $32 here in Australia and there is such a small shade selection.

You can get this at Priceline, Target or ASOS. I’d wait for another Priceline or Target sale to buy it if you want to buy locally, the sales are generally good.

Have you guys used this foundation? How are you liking it?

Let me know!

M.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thank you for this post! I am nc40-42 and have been wondering which shade to order off asos. I am going with the dark beige because of your recommendation. Great blog!

  2. i am NC42. and i dont think 56 match my skin. i prefer the yellow undertones too! thanks for this post.

  3. Thanks for the helpful review.
    I’m a bit concerned this shade is going to be too light but you’ve given me the confidence to give it a go as Priceline have the 40% off again!

Let's chat here!

