Short notice salon services: Vaniday

Hi everyone!

A few weeks ago Vaniday Australia reached out to me and asked if I was interested in sampling some of their salons to get my opinion on the booking process. Seeing as though I’ve needed a hair cut and colour since last month, I gladly, and hastily, agreed to collaborate with them!

Vaniday is an online website that allows you to book any type of beauty service anytime, anywhere so long as you have internet connectivity! You can utilise their service either through their website or their super convenient app, which is available on both the Apple App Store and Google Play Store for free. The wonderfully streamlined app is easy to use and has a professional feel to it. You are able to manage all your appointments through the app and view all current and previous bookings. For now, it is only Sydney and Melbourne that has access to local salons through Vaniday.

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 12.40.39 AM

I was fortunate enough to be given a $50 voucher to use on any service, which I redeemed on a cut, colour, and style with People Hairdressing in Potts Point. It’s quite easy to book through the website or on the app, as everything is categorised and you are able to filter salons based on price, area, and/or services. There are so many services you can book, some of which include a blowdry, waxing, a facial, and manicures/pedicures. They even offer various services for men including a hot towel shave!

While going through the salon list is quite time-consuming, I really appreciate that you have access to reviews as well as a comprehensive price list for services they offer including a time estimation.

Once I chose the salon and service I wanted, I had to decide which day and time I wanted before proceeding to the final page where I had the option to pay online or directly at the salon. Depending on the salon, you also have the option to choose which hairdresser/technician you want to see.

During the booking process I encountered a technical mishap where a network error message appeared after I tried to finalise my booking. Despite this message I received an email confirming my appointment. As it didn’t appear in my profile, I used the chat function on the Vaniday website and inquired about whether or not my booking went through. It didn’t so I had to rebook. The person responding to my queries was prompt and helpful with their responses. I really appreciated the fact that he wished me a ‘Happy Vaniday’!

DSC_0073

As Vaniday is relatively new to the market, there are a few things they could improve on, which I don’t doubt they will. First of all there aren’t many salons in my immediate area, North West Sydney, as many of them are in the CBD and surrounding areas, and it takes me a while to get in and out of the city. Secondly, there aren’t as many reviews for salons. Of course this will be rectified as time goes on and more people use Vaniday.

The final area they can improve on is perhaps something that is beyond their control, but I thought to mention anyway. I hoped there would be more descriptions under each service offered by salons especially with hair services. It would be good to know what comes with a colour service, for example, if a blow-dry is included so I know if I have to book that separately. This was the case with People Hairdressing as I had to refer to their website to determine this information. In addition to my last suggestion, photos of the salon’s work would greatly appreciated so individuals can gauge whether or not it’s a fit for them.

Overall I’m very impressed with Vaniday and it’s uniqueness and have no doubt that I will be using this app to book future beauty appointments, last minute or otherwise.

Have you guys used Vaniday before? How was your experience?

Let me know in the comments!

Michelle

*A $50 voucher was given in exchange for an honest review about Vaniday and the booking experience. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. That’s a great service and I hope your feedback on improvements will be taken into account! 🙂

Let's chat here!

