Hair & Me Hair Rejuvenation Treatment Review

Hi everyone!

A few weeks ago Hair&Me reached out to me asking if I was interested in trying and reviewing their flagship product, the Hair Rejuvenation Treatment. I gladly accepted since I’ve been obsessing over the state of my coloured, slightly damaged hair recently.

Hair&Me are an Australian brand and their products are 100% organic and vegan friendly. They’re currently stocked in salons across Australia and on Urban Outfitters. You can buy directly from their website here where they stock shampoo, conditioner, the treatment, and a detangling brush. They sell the treatment for $19.95.

DSC_0160

DSC_0167

DSC_0182aa

DSC_0174Directions for use say to dampen hair and then apply the treatment, leaving it on for a minimum of 45 minutes, even overnight, followed by shampooing twice and conditioning as usual. It stimulates blood flow and hair growth while preventing breakage and split ends.

They suggest popping it in the fridge so the product thickens to a paste-like consistency, which helps with application. Since it’s been so cold here in Sydney, I didn’t need to do that, but definitely recommend it when using it in summer.

It claims to repair, moisturise, strengthen your hair and scalp, control frizziness and also cuts blow-drying time by 30-50% as the oil is absorbed into the hair, pushing out trapped water from the cuticle.

You get 90ml of product in a squeeze-tube container. I used this on my hair and my younger brother’s hair since we have such different hair types. I managed to get 2 uses on my long, coloured, thick hair that’s straight, and 3 on my brother’s short, really thick hair. For anyone with long hair this will give you about 3 uses. The ingredients list is quite short, always a good thing when dealing with natural products. The first ingredient, which gives it a nice smell, is the 100% raw certified organic extra virgin coconut oil followed by sweet almond oil, macadamia oil and jojoba oil.

DSC_0293
Yes, I changed my hair colour!

DSC_0312

I kept on the treatment for upwards of an hour and found that the coconut smell was pleasant and not overwhelming. After shampooing twice and conditioning with my regular combination I blow-dried my hair. It took less than 5 minutes to rough dry (when you just use the dryer and your hands, no brushes) all my hair when it usually takes 10-15 minutes. A proper blow dry took less than 15 minutes when I take at least 20 minutes on any other day.

Apart from my amazement at the reduced blow-drying time, my baby hairs and flyaways were tamed significantly so my hair looked sleek and smooth. My hair felt soft and the product did not weigh it down at all, despite the oils in it, and definitely did not make it feel greasy. I don’t know if anyone else that’s used this found this, but my scalp didn’t oil up after 24 hours like it usually does. It was a good 48 hours until oil began to appear. You can see in the photo below that my hair looks healthy and shiny, not damaged like some coloured/heat styled hair can.

DSC_0307

DSC_0290

There was a more significant result on my brother’s hair, which is why I wanted to mention it in this review. He has short, wavy, thick hair that is extremely dry and only shampoos twice a week as a result. I put the treatment on him for an hour.

After he washed his hair, he let it air dry, which only took 10 minutes when it usually takes in excess of 20 minutes. I ran my fingers through his hair and I kid you not, called my sister, because of how soft and manageable it was. We then went on to play with his hair for ten minutes because of the dramatic textural change. It wasn’t frizzy and didn’t look like a bush. Upon touch you could feel that it was more moisturised and hydrated and did not tangle. Unfortunately he didn’t want to be photographed so I couldn’t provide any photos.

I’ve been doing this on my hair and my brother’s hair for about 3 weeks and now he expects me to apply it every Thursday evening in conjunction with a scalp massage.

I’m so glad I tried this because it genuinely rejuvenates your hair and makes it feel like it’s someone else’s hair! For those who want to give their hair a hydration boost definitely check this out. I’m definitely going to buy this since I’ve used the product up completely and my hair needs some TLC.

Have you guys used this before? What other treatments do you use?

Let’s have a hair-raising discussion in the comments!

Michelle

This product was kindly provided for review purposes.  All opinions are mine and are always honest.

Let's chat here!

