Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation Review


DSC_0417 copy

Hi everyone!

Today’s review is on the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation. I have it in the shade 6.5 which is a good match for NC35-37. You can buy this at select Myer or David Jones, as well as their respective websites where it retails for $90.

Be prepared for photos, close ups of my face, and images of my acne scarring!

DSC_0413 copy

According to the Myer website Luminous Silk Foundation is a:

Silky, lightweight fluid foundation for seamless application. Capture the glow of perfect looking skin with Luminous silk foundation, an oil-free hydrating fluid with exclusive Micro-fil technology. Its lightweight and silky texture glides on seamlessly for an all-day, buildable coverage. Find your perfect match among 11 available shades. All skin types.”

Untitled-1

The foundation is very runny and has smooth texture. It applies well with a brush where it provides a heavier medium coverage with a satin finish, while using fingers gives a sheerer medium coverage that looks more natural and luminous than when applied with a brush.

For oily skinned ladies you definitely have to powder as this doesn’t do a great job keeping oil at bay. On me it starts oiling up after 2-3 hours with powder so keep blot paper or powder handy to touch up.

As I’ve lost my tan this is a great match for me although I wish it had a bit more yellow/golden tones since, for some strange reason, I’m ridiculously yellow toned and this applies slightly more beige/neutral.

This foundation doesn’t have any SPF which is perfect for flash photography as it doesn’t have a white cast in photos. It also helps to blur imperfections and provides a soft-focus finish when photographed. It does a wonderful job of perking up the skin and making me look well rested and lively.

DSC_0111

Here’s my bare face! Sorry for the towel on my head, I just washed my hair!

DSC_0119 copy

This is how I like to apply it so the brush doesn’t soak up a lot of the product. I shake the bottle vigorously and use 1.5-2 pumps where I dot it all over my face. I spritz my buffing brush with Fix + and then buff & blend away. I tend to add more product to areas that need more coverage like my cheeks where most of my acne scarring is contained.

DSC_0122

cheek2

Here you can see that it did a pretty good job covering my acne scarring with just one layer, I tend to do two layers on my acne scarring but for the purpose of this review I just put one to show you its capabilities.

cheek

DSC_0124 copy

Fully blended! See how beige/neutral it became after buffing it in? I use a bronzer to warm up my face so that it matches my chest which is even more yellow than my face.

This foundation lasts a solid eight hours with primer and powder before starting to break down and fade. Also this foundation does oxidise on me where it turns a shade darker and slightly more golden after four hours of wear.

Overall I really enjoy using this foundation although I don’t know if I’ll repurchase it because it is expensive and I actually like trying different foundations, especially when the state of my skin changes from super oily to combination!

Have you used this foundation? How do you find it?

Let me know in the comments!

Michelle.

Follow me on bloglovin!

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hey Michelle!

    I’ve used this. But bought it for the fraction of the price because I bought it on my visit to Hong Kong haha~ I think I paid around $50-60. Very silky indeed and I love how it feels on my skin. However, it does not look good on my nose! My pores are very visible when I use this foundation. What other foundations do you use and like? Also.. what camera did you use to take those photos?

    • Hi!

      I also use Estee Lauder Double Wear in 4N1 Shell Beige, it’s the new formulation. My skin is quite oily and even this foundation doesn’t stop it from shining through. The Napoleon Perdis China Doll foundation is also good but my oily skin needs blotting throughout the day. For a fast base application I use the Bare Minerals Matte mineral foundation. Again, my skin still gets oily and shiny throughout the day despite the matte and powder formulation of the foundation.

      The camera I used is the Nikon D5100.

      I think I’m going to try the Lasting Silk version of the Armani foundation since my one almost finished!

Let's chat here!

