Real Techniques Review: Eye Brushes

rt eye brush edit

Well it’s been a few months since I did the Real Techniques Face Brushes post so I thought it was about damn time that I followed it up with the Eye Brushes. I do have all 9 that are available and purchased them online from Amazon, iHerb and Love-Makeup UK with iHerb being the cheapest option.

Just a reminder that all the brushes are made of synthetic fibres which means they can be used for anything you want!

Let’s get to it then!

starter set editStarting with the Starter Set the brushes included in it are:

  • pixel-point eyeliner brush
  • accent brush,
  • base shadow brush,
  • deluxe crease brush, and
  • brow brush.
Pixel Point Eyeliner Brush
Pixel Point Eyeliner Brush

The pixel point eyeliner brush is actually quite big for my eyes, or many eyes for that matter, but it does get a fair amount of love. I use it to spot conceal and to a lesser degree, smudging out liner on the top lash line.

I have used it to line my eyes and while possible, it isn’t precise enough for me. You have to pack on the liner so that the bristles are sticking to each other which makes it flatter and easier to use.

My usage of this brush? Probably once every two or three weeks. Not an essential but it came with the set.

Accent Brush
Accent Brush

The accent brush is a teeny-tiny brush perfect for me since it won’t smudge colour all over my lids. I barely have any lid space so this is small and precise enough for smudging on the top and bottom lash line since it’s not so dense  and the bristles are short. I’ve seen some people use this as a lip brush and I suppose you could but then it’d take me a while to fill in my lips! This is also excellent at highlighting under the brow bone and concealing smaller areas due to its size.

Base Shadow Brush
Base Shadow Brush

The base shadow brush reminds me of a synthetic version of the popular and beloved MAC 217. However the 217 I have is more round and tapered compared to the base shadow brush. I do like the base shadow brush though, it’s perfect for applying liquid, cream and powder shadows since it won’t absorb too much product and is decent at blending. I really appreciate how the eye brushes have short handles, as a glasses wearer I find myself mere centimetres away from my mirror since I can barely see anything. Once again this has a multitude of uses apart from eye shadow placement/blending; it can also be used for concealing and highlighting.

Deluxe Crease Brush
Deluxe Crease Brush

We come now to the most popular brush of this set, the deluxe crease brush. It’s round and dense and closely packed together for optimal blending awesomeness. Now I find that this brush is something I should have a backup of but I don’t want to commit to buying another set.

I use this for concealing under my eyes, blemishes, highlighting, applying cream eyeshadow and blending everything and anything! It’s such a staple to me since it’s ridiculously multi-functional. I personally don’t use it to blend out powder shadows since there’s no need to use such a dense brush, rather I rely on a less dense, fluffy and more flexible brush like the MAC 224 or a 217. However this really excels in blending liquid and cream products as well as applying cream shadows opaquely (I’m looking at you Maybelline Colour Tattoo – Pomegranate Punk).

The closest dupe I’ve found for this is the Ecotools Airbrush concealer which is similar in shape yet not as dense. It’s $3.50 on iHerb and for that amount I can’t complain. If you want this brush yet don’t want to commit to the whole set I’d settle for the EcoTools one. That being said, I prefer the Real Techniques one because of its density and ease of blending.

DSC_0663
Brow Brush

The last brush in the set is the brow brush. It’s big and it’s soft yet stiff enough to apply brow powders. I only use it for inserting my unnoticeable brows which it does a good job at. It’s a lovely brush is all I can say. It leaves my brows looking softly defined and not too in your face or sadly drawn on, however, if you do want a strongly defined brow use something like the MAC 208 since it’s really stiff and not so flexible.

single brushes edit

These are the brushes that you can buy separately (except for the domed shadow brush, it’s a part of the travel essentials set).

Shading Brush
Shading Brush

The shading brush is like a smaller version of the domed shadow brush which makes it better at precisely placing cream and powder eyeshadow on smaller eyes. It’s sort of like a mix between the detail brush and the domed shadow brush. It’s also good at light blending of powder shadows but  it isn’t good for blending under the eye because it the brush is dense and thick.

Lash-Brow Groomer
Lash-Brow Groomer

The lash-brow groomer came in a twin pack when I bought it off Amazon a while ago. It was about $12, I don’t remember the exact amount. I bought it because of the metal lash comb which is amazing at separating lashes. The brow groomer I can live without but it is nice to have if you travel since it’s 2-in-1.

DSC_0670
Fine Liner Brush

The fine liner brush was a brush I knew I had to have when it was released because, well, it’s fine!

It’s actually really tiny but the bristles are a bit long for my liking which makes it flexible yes, but I seem to lack control. I don’t have big eyes or an ample amount of lid space so a line over 2mm may be too much and overpowering on me. Also, I’m prone to making more mistakes if the bristles are longer. I would say skip this brush if you do like precision. I sometimes use this but prefer my Models Prefer Angled Liner Brush for any dramatic winged liner look since the bristles are a few millimeters shorter and the bristles don’t splay out as much as this one.

Domed Shadow Brush
Domed Shadow Brush

Finally we have the domed shadow brush which is humongous. It’s available in the travel essentials pack and is similar to the deluxe crease brush as you can use it for a multitude of purposes. The brush is flat yet superbly dense which makes it an excellent candidate for blending.

I love using it to blend out my under eye concealer and that’s pretty much it. You could use it on bigger eyes to apply shadow and blend it out but it’s a tad too big for me which is why it’s reserved for concealing.

I don’t think you’d need the domed shadow brush if you have the deluxe crease brush especially since the latter can be used for so many more things due to its size and shape.

Comparison photos.

These pictures show the shape and size of some of the brushes I’ve compared and mentioned in the post which should hopefully be of some help to you!

Domed Shadow Brush & Deluxe Crease Brush

Left: Domed Shadow Brush. Right: Deluxe Crease Brush.
Left: Domed Shadow Brush. Right: Deluxe Crease Brush.
Left: Domed Shadow Brush. Right: Deluxe Crease Brush.
Left: Domed Shadow Brush. Right: Deluxe Crease Brush.

Deluxe Crease Brush & EcoTools Airbrush Concealer.

Left: RT Deluxe Crease Brush. Right: Ecotools Airbrush Concealer Brush.
Left: RT Deluxe Crease Brush. Right: Ecotools Airbrush Concealer Brush.
Left: RT Deluxe Crease Brush. Right: Ecotools Airbrush Concealer.
Left: RT Deluxe Crease Brush. Right: Ecotools Airbrush Concealer.

Accent Brush, Shading Brush & Domed Shadow Brush.

L-R: RT Accent Brush, Shading Brush & Domed Shadow Brush.
L-R: RT Accent Brush, Shading Brush & Domed Shadow Brush.
DSC_0645
L-R: RT Accent Brush, Shading Brush & Domed Shadow Brush.

Pixel Point Eyeliner Brush, Fine Liner Brush & Models Prefer Angled Liner Brush.

Left: RT Pixel Point Eyeliner Brush. Middle: RT Fine Liner Brush. Right: Models Prefer Angled Liner Brush.
Left: RT Pixel Point Eyeliner Brush. Middle: RT Fine Liner Brush. Right: Models Prefer Angled Liner Brush.
Left: RT Pixel Point Eyeliner Brush. Middle: RT Fine Liner Brush. Right: Models Prefer Angled Liner Brush.
Left: RT Pixel Point Eyeliner Brush. Middle: RT Fine Liner Brush. Right: Models Prefer Angled Liner Brush.

That was a really long post but hopefully thorough and useful to you.

Have you guys used the Real Techniques eye brushes? What do you think of them?

M.

13 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Pretty Little Beauty Blog Wed, 24 April, 2013 — 9.54 AM

    I haven’t used them yet and I know they were having that awesome sale just recently which I missed :(. I did pick up the Expert Face Brush which I am drooling over right now. You explanation of the brushes makes me want to buy them even more :(. I should pay attention to the sale dates haha.

    • Don’t you hate it when you miss sales? Especially the ones that have a gift with purchase. They really ruin my day haha

      Anyway, if I were to start my brush collection all over I’d get these first since they’re so versatile. You should definitely pick them up when you get the chance, you won’t regret it!

      Also, how awesome is the expert face brush? You can apply your entire base with that one brush.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      M.

      • Pretty Little Beauty Blog Wed, 24 April, 2013 — 9.37 PM

        It totally ruins my day haha, at least someone feels my pain. Ill have to check the kit out then. The price on the set was good even without the sale.

        I think the face brush is incredible. I was stippling before but this makes that not necessary. It applies evenly and it has that in between of coverage and not looking like you’re wearing makeup. I highly recommend it.

  2. Pretty! This was a really wonderful post. Many thanks for supplying these details.

  3. WOW! Thank you! that was an awesome review! now i really know what brushes i need and i want :* Greetings from Germany 🙂

  4. Thank you for such a comprehensive review. I love the RT face brushes but hadn’t tried any of the eye brushes and this has been incredibly helpful!

    Nic x

  5. You are so interesting! I do not think I’ve truly read through anything like this before. So nice to discover another person with a few genuine thoughts on this subject matter. Really.. thanks for starting this up. This site is one thing that is needed on the web, someone with some originality!

  6. hello, i like how you compared a lot of the brushes. Did the ecotools one come as a single, or was it with other brushes?? Because I’ve been wanting the deluxe crease brush but didn’t want the other brushes that came with it. Thanks

  7. I already have the Real Techniques Deluxe Crease Brush and was wondering how it compared to Ecotools’ Airbrush Concealer? Do you prefer the Real Techniques or Ecotools? And which one is softer? I’m debating whether or not to get the Ecotools brush!! Thanks 😀

    • Hi! The Ecotools airbrush concealer is softer and the bristles are much more flexible than the real techniques one however the brush isn’t as dense and will give a sheerer application of concealer. I actually use my real techniques deluxe crease brush under the eyes much more because of its firmness. Hope that helps!

  8. Dear Michelle,
    I want to know which one you like most, the ecotools eye travel set or real techniques starter set/eye brush?

    • I don’t have the Ecotools eye travel set but I really do like the real techniques starter set as you can use it for a whole range of things, like concealer, not just for eye shadows as well as being multifunctional in regards to different textures.

Let's chat here!

